The Third Annual Jim Bouley Memorial Speed Contest

  • 09/15/2017
  • 1:00 PM
  • We-Ko-Pa Resort, 10438 N. Fort McDowell Road, Scottsdale/Fountain Hills, AZ


  • Speed Contest Participant

Registration is closed



  • Qualified competitors shall be a member in good standing with NCRA, ACRA, or be an RPR or a certified reporter in your state of residence.
  • Registration fee: $40.00 through August 20; $60 August 21 and after.
  • All applicants should have registration forms completed by August 20 to ensure successful room and event booking confirmations.

Hotel accommodations

This event is being held in conjunction with our 2017 Annual Convention if you need to stay over.  Click here to go to We-Ko-Pa Resort reservation page for ACRA or call 480-789-5300.


  • Dictation will be done from taped material to avoid any dictating errors.


  • Literary at 220 wpm
  • Jury Charge at 240 wpm
  • Testimony/Q&A at 270 wpm


  • Contestants are given 90 minutes for each leg of the test.
  • No transcript will be rated that has more than 5% errors.
  • Testimony portion will be two-voice dictation, with Q’s and A’s neither counted nor read.
  • No tape recorders or recording devices are permitted in the exam room or the transcribing room.


  • All transcripts need to be labeled with your assigned number only. Transcripts with names on them will not be accepted.
  • One transcript needs to be submitted for each 5-minute take.
  • There will be a BACKUP printer, but contestants must bring their own.
  • Successful transcripts and shorthand notes become property of ACRA.
  • All other transcripts will be available for review after the announcement of the winners.


  • Contestants are not permitted in the grading room during grading process.
  • The contestant who qualifies on the 3 tests with the highest average for the 3 shall be declared champion.
  • Professionalism Barred: If requested, contestants must give to the committee satisfactory assurance that they have not received, directly or indirectly, any remuneration or promise of remuneration of whatever character for entering or winning any part of this contest.

Decisions of committee are final

  • The members of the grading committee will be announced soon.


  • Champion’s name will be permanently inscribed on the ACRA Speed Contest Championship Traveling Trophy, which the winner may keep for one year, to be returned in advance of the contest the following year, where it once again will go to that next year’s champion.
  • The Champion will also receive a “keeper” 1st place trophy as well as a gold medal.
  • Second place will receive a silver medal.
  • Third place will receive a bronze medal.
  • Certificates for all who attain a 95% or higher.
  • Contest committee publishes those names in the next ArizoNotes newsletter and will update each year on the website.

Obtaining PDCs

  • Credential holders who successfully complete a speed contest at or above the level of the RMR speeds may earn 0.25 PDC per leg. Per NCRA rules, only 1.0 PDC per cycle may be applied toward NCRA certification.

NCRA Ethics First Supporter

About ACRA

The Arizona Court Reporters Association’s mission is to educate and inform the public, reporters, and related legal professions about codified court reporting ethics,...


Follow Us

Contact Us

70 S. Val Vista Dr., Suite A3-602
Gilbert, AZ 85296


© 2023 Arizona Court Reporters Association | Designed and maintained by 58designs

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software